Academy Award Nominee Melissa Mccarthy To Be Honored As The People’s Icon Of 2018 At The E!’S People’s Choice Awards


WINDHOEK, NOV. 14 – E! has announced that acclaimed actor, writer, producer and director Melissa McCarthy will be the inaugural recipient of “The People’s Icon of 2018” award at The E! People’s Choice Awards. McCarthy will be honoured for her work across film and television including The Heat, The Boss, Spy, Ghostbusters, Tammy, St. Vincent and Bridesmaids, which she was nominated for a SAG and an Academy Award. On the television side, she has amassed a total of eight Emmy nominations, three of which came from her role as Molly Flynn in the critically acclaimed series Mike and Mollygarnering one win in 2011 for “Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series,” and her portrayal of Former White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer on Saturday Night Liveearning her second Emmy win for “Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series” in 2017. Additionally, McCarthy is nominated for “Comedy Movie Star of 2018” at this year’s ceremony. The E! People’s Choice Awards will broadcast live on Monday 12th November at 02:00 CAT on E! (DStv Channel 124).

Melissa McCarthy is a multi-talented actor, writer, producer and director and who has starred in some of the most iconic movies and television shows of the past decade,” said Jen Neal, Executive Producer, Live Events, Executive Vice President, Marketing for E! “She is beloved by the people and we couldn’t think of anyone more fitting or deserving to honour as ‘The People’s Icon of 2018.'”

Melissa McCarthy can currently be seen starring in Fox Searchlight’s Can You Ever Forgive Me? She starred earlier this year in Warner Bros. Life of the Party which she co-wrote and produced with husband Ben Falcone, who served as the film’s director, through their On the Day Productions. Next year she will star in Warner Bros. Superintelligence, directed by Ben Falcone and Warner Bros. The Kitchen. McCarthy has previously won four People’s Choice Awards, three in the Comedic Movie Actress category and one in the Comedic TV Actress category. – info@namibiadailynews.info