National, Sports

Young Warriors Arrived in Mauritania.

Windhoek, Feb 8–The Young Warriors finally arrived in Nauakchott, Mauritania on Sunday evening for the upcoming U20 African Cup of Nations Finals to be held in that country.

The tournament is slated for 14 February to 4 March 2021 in Mauritani and Namibia is making her debut in the continental showpiece and has been drawn in a tough pool that includes Burkina Faso, Tunisia, and the Central African Republic.

Only the top two teams from each of the three pools and the two best-placed runner-up advance to the quarter-final.

“We are currently waiting on the confirmation of friendlies from Mauritania because we only played friendlies in Namibia against the senior national team and that was not game time enough and we still need more matches to prepare the boys. The initial plan was to have four to six friendlies prior to the competition but due to Covid restrictions and other unforeseen circumstances we will settle for three”, Britz states.

He adds that the spirit in the camp looks great, the new players are adjusting well with the rest and everyone is on a common goal and that is to try to reach the semi-finals gainst all odds.

Namibia qualifieed for the championships after finishing second at COSAFA U20 Cup last year. Namibia will start their campaign on 15 February against Central African Republic and then take on Tunisia on 18 February before concluding off their group action against Burkina Faso on 21 February.

Britz will be working with all the 29 played he announced on Thursday, as the NFA managed to cater for all of them to ensure options for the coach.

The 29 Young Warriors : Tully Nashixua, Immanuel Hamunyela, Denzil Narib, Pitsi Ameb, Romeo Amon, Xavier Mcclune, Edmar Kamatuka, Carl Tjipe Karuuombe,Rio Goagoseb, Ronin Brendt, Amazing Kandjii (Khomas), Steven Damaseb, Prins Tjiueza, Promise Gurirab, Herman Uwuseb, Tuhafeni Ananias, Gerson Paulus(Erongo), Ngazikue Kandetu, Ruhuka Ngatangwe(Omaheke), Mwanyekange Matheus (Omusati),
Josef Erastus(Oshana), Juninho Jantze (Hardap), Eubrahim Apollus (Kharas), Giovani Kaninab, Gonzales Tsuseb (Kunene), Ngero Katua, Garere Damaseb, Jovane Narib, Phillip Joseph (Otjozondjupa).