U.S. imposes sanctions on individuals, entity under Magnitsky Act

WASHINGTON, May 17– The U.S. Treasury on Thursday imposed new sanctions on more individuals and entities under the pretext of the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act.

The Treasury said in a statement that it added five individuals, including at least three Russians, and one Chechen group to its sanctions list.

The sanctions would freeze assets of blacklisted persons and entities under U.S. jurisdiction and ban any U.S. individuals or companies from making business deals with them.

The penalty came as the U.S. State Department presented to Congress its annual report on the administration’s implementation of Magnitsky Act.

The act was enacted in 2012 under former U.S. President Barack Obama, following the death of Russian lawyer Sergei Magnitsky, who Washington said had uncovered large-scale corruption among Russian officials.
Magnitsky was arrested in November 2008 for alleged tax fraud and died in prison the following year.

The United States claimed that Magnitsky died because of medical neglect, and imposed sanctions on Russian officials who were allegedly responsible for the lawyer’s death.

Russia denied any wrongdoing linking to Magnitsky’s death. The U.S. Congress passed the Magnitsky Act in December 2012, barring American citizens from adopting Russian orphans and banning Americans suspected of human rights violations from entering Russia. – XINHUA