Nedbank Awards bursaries worth N$400 000

WINDHOEK, JUNE 12 – Nedbank Namibia recently award bursaries amounting to N$ 400 000 to 13 students, through the bank’s newly established bursary programme.

After Nedbank announced the intake of applications for the Nedbank Bursary Programme, a total of 194 applications were received. Through a selection process which what made up of interviews and in-depth assessments, a total of 13 candidates were successful. Included in this number are 10 Nedbank staff members who are working at the bank and studying part-time.

Speaking at the announcement ceremony, Nedbank Namibia Managing Director, Lionel Matthews congratulated all the successful Nedbank candidates.

“At Nedbank we understand that the youth is the future, therefore we are committed to invest in our youth and creating opportunities for them. Including our staff into the bursary programme, proves once again that Nedbank is a great place work, because we continue to invest in our people,” he said.

The Bursary programme is linked to a mentorship programme, where each candidate will be assigned a mentor from the top Nedbank management.

“This will not only ensure that the progress of each candidates is tracked, but it also gives us the ability to fully understand the ambition of each candidate and provide them with the appropriate assistance,” said Matthews.

The Nedbank staff members who are bursary recipients include, Alex Kamboua, Jason Kaish, Elizabeth Hamunyela, Marlyne Garoes, Maureen Kausha, Lucretius Kasata, Clements Nuunyango, Daisy Andjamba, Randy Schwartbooy and Elizabeth Ben-Elungu. Their fields of study include, Accounting, Finance, Information Technology and Law.

The other candidates to receive bursaries from Nedbank include, Esther Pomuti who is studying Masters of Commerce Financial Markets at Rhodes University; Petritia Sheya studying a Bachelor of Computer Science at NUST; and Venick Mashuna who is pursuing a Bachelor’s of Science in Applied Mathematics & Statistics at NUST.

The Nedbank Bursary Programme selection committee includes, Nedbank Managing Director, Lionel Matthews; Nedbank Chief Financial Officer, JG van Graan; Nedbank Chief Internal Auditor, Heinrich Joodt and Nedbank Organisation Effectiveness Specialist, Ruth Hammerslagt. – NDN Staffer